2018 Candidate Bios: President

Richard Cohn (Ph.D., Music Theory, Eastman School of Music, 1987) is Battell Professor of Music Theory at Yale University. As chair of the Publications Committee in the 1990s, he spear-headed SMT’s initial alliance with a full-service publisher, and integrated Music Theory Online into its publications portfolio. As co-chair of the Program Committee, he initiated the 1999 keynote symposium of international scholars. As Chair of the Department of Music at the University of Chicago in 2001, he worked with SMT to create the position of Executive Director. For SMT, he has chaired the Publications Awards Committee (2003), served on the Nominating (1990), Bylaws (2005), and Workshop (2017–2018) Committees, and was a Member-at-Large of the Executive Board (1997–1999). He is Founding Editor of Oxford University Press’s Studies in Music Theory and has served as Executive Editor of the Journal of Music Theory. He has presented keynote lectures and workshops in the UK, Netherlands, France, Australia, and Germany. He is a two-time winner of SMT’s Outstanding Publication Award (1994 and 1997). Current projects include a book on musical meter, a textbook on mathematics of music, and a secondary-school curriculum combining the two topics.

Patricia Hall (Ph.D., Music Theory, Yale University, 1989; M.A., Music Theory, Columbia University, 1980; B.A., Psychology, U.C. Berkeley, 1987) is Professor of Music Theory at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, and was Chair of Music Theory from 2011–2017. Prior to 2011 she was a faculty member at U.C. Santa Barbara and Mills College. She is the author of A View of Berg’s Lulu Through the Autograph Sources (University of California Press, 1997, winner of the ASCAP Deems-Taylor Award), Berg’s Wozzeck (Oxford University Press, 2011), and co-editor with Friedemann Sallis of A Handbook to Twentieth-Century Musical Sketches (Cambridge University Press, 2004). She is the general editor of The Oxford Handbook of Music Censorship (Oxford University Press, 2017). Her articles and reviews have appeared in The Journal of Music Theory, The Musical Quarterly, Music Theory Spectrum, The International Journal of Musicology, Computing in Musicology, and a number of edited volumes. Her research has been supported by two Fulbright Fellowships for study in Vienna and a grant from the Paul Sacher Foundation in Basel. She founded the online journal, Music & Politics, and was editor from 2007–2017. She has served SMT as a member of the Publications Awards Committee (2015–2016), chair of the Committee on the Status of Women (2010–2012), a member of the Publications Committee (1998–2000), Spectrum editorial board (1999–2001), and the Program Committee (1997). She founded the Autographs and Archival Documents Interest Group in 2016 and serves as chair. Her research centers on sketches and autographs, Alban Berg, music and politics, and the analysis of film music. She is currently writing a monograph on analyzing music in political film.