SMT Administration

The Society for Music Theory (SMT) was established in 1977 to promote music theory as both a scholarly and a pedagogical discipline. Over 1200 individual members and nearly 400 institutional members belong to the SMT.

In this portion of our website you can find a list of the members of the following bodies:

Executive Board
Standing Committees
Ad hoc Committees
Journal Boards

You can also find various documents pertaining to the Society:

Governance Guidelines
Other Guidelines and Policies
    Accessibility Policy
    Ethics Policy
    Interest Group Requirements and Best Practices
    Investment Policy
    Language Guidelines
    Mentoring Policy
    Statement on Professional Standards
    Sustainability Policy

The Society for Music Theory is a non-profit corporation of the State of New York. For further information about the Society, please contact Executive Director Victoria Long.