Interest Groups

Below is a list of SMT interest groups. Also listed are three standing committees: the Committee on the Status of Women , the Committee on Diversity, and the Professional Development Committee. Membership in the interests groups is open to all SMT members; please contact the chairs of the interest groups to find out how to join. Please refer also to the Interest Group Guidelines.

Membership in the standing committees is by appointment; however, participation in most of the activities sponsored by the standing committees is open to all SMT members.


Analysis of World Music Group

Contact: Lawrence Schuster, lawshuster@gmail.com
Website: SMT Analysis of World Music Group

Committee on Diversity

As noted above, this is a standing committee, not an interest group. For information about this committee, please see the Committee on Diversity webpage.

Committee on the Status of Women (CSW)

As noted above, this is a standing committee, not an interest group. For information about this committee, please see the CSW webpage.

Film and Multimedia Interest Group

Contact: Juan Chattah, j.chattah@miami.edu
Website: Film and Multimedia Interest Group

Interest Group on Improvisation

Contact: Paul Steinbeck, paul.steinbeck@gmail.com
Website: SMT Improvisation Group

Jazz Interest Group (SMT-Jz)

Contact: Keith Salley, ksalley@su.edu
Website: SMT Jazz Interest Group

Mathematics of Music Analysis Group

Contact: Jason Yust, jason.yust@gmail.com
Website: SMT Mathematics and Music Interest Group

Music and Disability Interest Group (DISMUS)

Contact: Jennifer Iverson, jennifer-iverson@uiowa.edu
Website: Music and Disability Interest Group

Music and Philosophy Interest Group

Contact: Brian Kane brian.kane@yale.edu
Website: Music and Philosophy Interest Group

Music Cognition Group

Contact: Mitch Ohriner, mohriner@gmail.com
Website: Music Cognition Group

Music Informatics Group

Contact: Johanna Devaney, j@devaney.ca
Website: SMT Informatics Site

Music Theory Pedagogy Interest Group

Contact: Daniel Stevens, stevens@udel.edu
Website: SMT Pedagogy Group

Performance and Analysis Interest Group

Contact: David Kopp, dako@bu.edu
Website: SMT Performance and Analysis Group

Popular Music Interest Group

Contact:Brad Osborn, bradosborn@ku.edu
Website: SMT Popular Music

Post-1945 Music Analysis Interest Group

Contact: Matthew Schullman, matthew.schullman@yale.edu
Website: SMT Post-1945 Music Analysis

Professional Development Committee (PDC)

As noted above, this is a standing committee, not an interest group. For information about this committee, please see the PDC webpage.

Queer Resource Group (SMT-LGTB)

Contact: Gavin Lee, lee_shin_kang@hotmail.com
Website: SMT Queer Resource Group

Russian Music Theory Interest Group

Contact: Inessa Bazayev, inessa.bazayev@gmail.com
Website: Russian Music Theory Interest Group

Work and Family Interest Group

Contact: Clare Eng, clare.eng@belmont.edu
Website: Work and Family Interest Group


The following bibliographies are maintained by SMT interest groups:

*******
For information on the past events that were sponsored by Interest Groups at the 2011 SMT conference, please see the Interest Group activities at the SMT 2011 Meeting page.