Thursday, August 17, 2023
Friday, August 18, 2023
Submission Deadline
Friday, May 5, 2023
RITMO Centre for Interdisciplinary Studies in Rhythm, Time and Motion (University of Oslo)

The RITMO Centre for Interdisciplinary Studies in Rhythm, Time and Motion (University of Oslo, Norway) invites researchers for an interdisciplinary workshop on entrainment (August 17-18, 2023), incorporating perspectives from musicology, ethnomusicology, cognitive neuroscience, music cognition and computational modelling. The workshop will feature keynote lectures by Prof. Martin Clayton (Durham University) and Prof. Molly Henry (Max Planck Institute for Empirical Aesthetics / Toronto Metropolitan University).

We invite submissions for both sessions/tutorials and presentations (equal time will be devoted to both). We encourage proposals for one-hour sessions of varied styles, ranging from theoretically oriented sessions and panel discussions to hands-on tutorials focused on methods, technology demonstrations, and analysis techniques. For the presentations, we will aim to accommodate medium-length talks (12-min presentation followed by 5-min questions). However, if we have overwhelming interest, we will add a flash talk format and assign certain talks to this format. Please submit abstracts of max. 300 words by May 5th, 2023 or register for general attendance here.

Participation will be hybrid, and there will be a remote presentation option. There will be no registration fee, and lunches will be provided to in-person attendees. Remote presenters will be required to submit recorded talks ahead of the workshop, and answer questions live over video conferencing. Both remote and in-person attendees will receive links to presentation livestreams and will continue to have access to both presentations and sessions after they have been recorded. In the registration form, you will have to report whether you plan on in-person or remote attendance, and declare whether you accept that presentations and sessions will be recorded.

Entrainment Workshop Planning Committee
Dana Swarbrick, Jonna Vuoskoski, Alexander Refsum Jensenius, & Anne Danielsen