Friday, July 29, 2022
Saturday, July 30, 2022
Submission Deadline
Saturday, April 30, 2022

MUSIC THEORY SOCIETY OF THE MID-ATLANTIC Twentieth Annual Meeting Virtual Conference July 29–30, 2022 (Keynote, Workshop, Q&A sessions) July 15 to August 15, 2022 (Presentations available for viewing) Dr. Robert Hasegawa (McGill University) Keynote Speaker Dr. Jennifer Snodgrass (Lipscomb University) Professional Development Workshop Leader The Music Theory Society of the Mid-Atlantic is excited to announce a call for papers for its twentieth annual meeting, which will take place virtually from July 15 to August 15, 2022, with keynote address, professional development workshop, and live Q&A sessions on July 29–30, 2022. Presenters have the option to choose between a 10-minute presentation or a 20-minute presentation. Proposals will be selected based on quality alone, regardless of length preferences. Proposals should be submitted via Google Form ( by 11:59 pm EST on April 30, 2022. The program committee will review proposals anonymously. No information that identifies the author(s) or their institutional affiliation should appear in the proposal or abstract. Authors will be notified of the committee’s decision by May 25, 2022. Conference presentations will be delivered virtually via one or more of the following options: • A 10- or 20-minute pre-recorded video with closed captioning or with a transcript • A written paper of equivalent length On Friday and Saturday, July 29 and 30, 2022, the MTSMA will host a series of live webinars for the paper sessions that will feature a 5-minute summary by each presenter, followed by a general Q&A. All presentation materials will be due from all presenters by Friday, July 1, 2022. All presentations will become available for advance viewing by registered attendees on Friday, July 15, 2022. The Society invites the submission of proposals on any aspect of music theory or music theory-related interdisciplinary research topics. Submit on Google Form ( the following items as a single PDF document: 1. An abstract, limited to 250 words. 2. A proposal, limited to 500 words. 3. Supplementary materials of no more than two pages (may include examples, diagrams, bibliography, etc.). As a separate PDF document, submit professional bios for all authors (max 100 words per author). Any graduate student whose proposal is accepted for presentation will be considered for the Dorothy Payne Award for the best student paper. The award is restricted to papers authored or co-authored solely by students, where, for the purposes of this award, student status ends with the receipt of a terminal degree or employment in a full-time position. Previous winners of the Dorothy Payne Award are not eligible. No more than two proposals per person will be considered, with the understanding that only one, if any, will be accepted. Co-authored talks will count as a second proposal. Previously published papers or talks given at national or international conferences will not be considered. If you cannot access the Google Form submission page, please email your proposal PDF, bio PDF, title of your paper, presentation length, your name, e-mail address, institutional affiliation, and student status (if applicable) to Questions should be addressed to Chelsey Hamm, MTSMA Program Chair (, or Kip Wile, MTSMA President ( MTSMA 2022 Program Committee: Chelsey Hamm (Christopher Newport University), Chair Michael Baker (University of Kentucky) Alyssa Barna (University of Minnesota) Scott Hanenberg (Virginia Tech) Stephen Hudson (University of Richmond)