Friday, March 3, 2023
Saturday, March 4, 2023
Submission Deadline
Monday, November 28, 2022
Kingsville, TX

The Texas Society for Music Theory will hold its 45th annual meeting on the campus of Texas A&M Kingsville, with Alexander Sanchez-Behar serving as local arrangements coordinator. Frank Lehman, author of Hearing Harmony: Musical Wonder and the Sound of Cinema, will deliver the keynote address. Jennifer Beavers will lead a plenary pedagogy session on supporting undergraduate research. The conference will be held in a hybrid in-person/online format. Presenters are asked to travel to Kingsville. Those not presenting may participate in person or virtually. All paper sessions, including the keynote and pedagogy sessions, will be livestreamed. The Society invites the submission of proposals on any aspect of music theory or music theory-related interdisciplinary research topics. One Friday-morning session at the conference will be streamed to high school and college music theory classes; for this session, the society encourages proposals appropriate for that audience. Proposals may be formatted as scholarly papers, posters, panel discussions, or special sessions. Poster templates and models will be available on the TSMT website. To submit a proposal, please prepare three separate PDF files: 1. Anonymous proposal of no more than 500 words and supplementary materials of no more than 2 pages (may include diagrams, examples, works cited, bibliography, etc.). Please include the proposal title. Title words do not count against the word limit. 2. Abstract of 100-150 words 3. Author bio(s), no more than 50 words per author The submitting author is responsible for making sure that the proposal and abstract contain no identifying information in the documents or metadata. Proposals are being accepted at: Only complete submissions uploaded to the above address by November 28, 2022 will be considered. Questions about submitting a proposal may be addressed to David Forrest at All student presenters will be considered for the TSMT Colvin Award for best student presentation. The recipient of the 2023 Colvin Award will receive $250.00 and an invitation to serve on the 2024 Program Committee.