Friday, March 4, 2022
Saturday, March 5, 2022
Submission Deadline
Monday, November 29, 2021
University of North Texas / Online

The Texas Society for Music Theory will hold its 44th annual meeting at the University of North Texas, with Justin Lavacek serving as local arrangements coordinator. Kofi Agawu, author of The African Imagination in Music and Music as Discourse: Semiotic Adventures in Romantic Music, will deliver the keynote address. Ben Graf, Paul Thomas, and Jennifer Weaver, creators of the Note Doctors podcast, will lead a plenary pedagogy session. The conference will be held in a hybrid in-person/online format. Presenters are asked to travel to Denton. Those not presenting may participate in person or virtually. All paper sessions, including the keynote and pedagogy sessions, will be livestreamed. Both in-person and virtual attendees may participate in the Q&A sessions. The Society invites the submission of proposals on any aspect of music theory or music theory-related interdisciplinary research topics. Proposals may be formatted as scholarly papers, posters, panel discussions, or special sessions.