The Society for Music Theory is pleased to announce its 2022 publication award winners!


Top: Ho, Venn, Manabe, Ohriner
Middle: BaileyShea, Shelley, Hynes-Tawa, Robinson
Bottom: Morrison, Stoecker, Chung, VanHandel, Leaman

Wallace Berry Award

Matt BaileyShea, Lines and Lyrics: An Introduction to Poetry and Song (Yale University Press, 2021)
Mitchell Ohriner, Flow: Expressive Rhythm in the Rapping Voice (New York: Oxford University Press, 2019)
Dylan Robinson, Hungry Listening: Resonant Theory for Indigenous Sound Studies (Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2020)

Outstanding Publication Award

Liam Hynes-Tawa, “Tonic, Final, Kyū: Tonal Mappings in the Meiji Period and Beyond,” Analytical Approaches to World Music 9, no. 1 (2021)
Kara Yoo Leaman, “Musical Techniques in Balanchine’s Jazzy Bach Ballet,” Journal of Music Theory 65, no. 1 (2021): 139–69
Noriko Manabe, “We Gon’ Be Alright? The Ambiguities of Kendrick Lamar’s Protest Anthem,” Music Theory Online 25, no. 1 (2019)

Emerging Scholar Award (book)

Braxton D. Shelley, Healing for the Soul: Richard Smallwood, the Vamp, and the Gospel Imagination (New York: Oxford University Press, 2021)
Leslie A. Tilley, Making It Up Together: The Art of Collective Improvisation in Balinese Music and Beyond (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2019)

Emerging Scholar Award (article)

Andrew J. Chung, “What Is Musical Meaning? Theorizing Music as Performative Utterance,” Music Theory Online 25, no. 1 (2019)
Jocelyn Ho, “Corporeal Musical Structure: A Gestural-Kinesthetic Approach to Tōru Takemitsu’s Rain Tree Sketch II,” Music Theory Online 27, no. 4 (2021)
Landon Morrison, “Encoding Post-Spectral Sound: Kaija Saariaho’s Early Electronic Music at IRCAM, 1982–87,” Music Theory Online 27, no. 3 (2021)

Outstanding Multi-Author Publication Award

Leigh VanHandel, ed., The Routledge Companion to Music Theory Pedagogy (New York: Routledge, 2020)
Edward Venn and Philip Stoecker, eds., Thomas Adès Studies (New York: Cambridge University Press, 2021)

View the Publication Awards page for more information on these awards. A list of winners in prior years can be found on the Past Publication Awards page.