This annual award honors an outstanding undergraduate syllabus that promotes diversity in music theory.

View Syllabi


Year Name Institution Course title
2022 Anna Yu Wang Harvard University Critical Methodologies for Music Theory
2022HM Justin London Carleton College Theory II: Musical Structures
2022HM Gabriel Lubell Indiana University Z211: Music Theory II
2022HM Jason Yust Boston University Music Theories of the World
2021 Jade Conlee Yale University Advanced Musicianship & Aural Skills
2021 Michael Tenzer University of British Columbia Musical Rhythm and Human Experience
2021HM Toby Rush1

Stefanie Acevedo2
1 University of Dayton

2 University of Connecticut
Theory of Music I
2021HM Ben Duinker

Claire McCleish
University of Toronto Rap Music and Hip-Hop Culture

HM: Designates Honorable Mentions.

Last modified
November 19, 2022

SMT Jacksonville 2024

The Society for Music Theory celebrates its forty-seventh Annual Meeting at the Hyatt Regency Riverfront Hotel in Jacksonville, Florida, November 7–10, 2024.


Visit Jacksonville built a microsite for our attendees to use. Visit the site to learn more about Jacksonville, including where to eat, what to do, and how to get there.


Information about the conference can be found on the SMT website

Hotel Reservations 

The Hyatt Regency Riverfront Hotel (225 E Coastline Drive) has reserved a block of rooms for conference attendees. The rates are $169/night for single and double occupancy; $194/night for triple occupancy; $219/night for quadruple occupancy; and $169 for student quadruple occupancy (limited rooms available). Hotel reservations for non-students may be made online.  SMT student members should have received an email with a code to reserve at the student rate; please email Jennifer Diaz at if you did not receive the email. 

Using the conference room block at this hotel helps us meet our contractual obligations and keeps you close to all conference activities.

Conference Registration

Conference registration is open and available on our website. The rates are as follows:

Rate Category Early (6/01–9/27/2024) Regular (9/28–11/1/2024)
Student or low-income $70.00 $95.00
Emeritus/Retired $100.00 $135.00
Standard $130.00 $175.00
Student Helpers

We are in need of student volunteers to assist during the conference. Volunteers will receive a registration fee waiver in exchange for 6.5 hours of service. The deadline to apply is September 6

Hotel Accessibility

Every effort will be made to meet the unique requirements of all attendees. For specific needs or questions please contact Jennifer Diaz, Executive Director, at  


The Society provides several sponsorship opportunities for organizations at our Annual Meeting. 


The deadline to reserve an exhibit booth is September 6

Program Guide Advertisements 

The final deadline to reserve a program guide ad is September 6