The Student Presentation Award is given annually to a graduate or undergraduate music student for a scholarly presentation at the Annual Meeting of the Society for Music Theory.

Year Name Institution Paper title
2023 Nicole Cosme-Clifford Yale University ""Play a Song from the Jukebox"
2023 Ryan Galik  Michigan State University “Don't Pop the Bubble: Intersections of Ambient Music, Attention, Expectation, and Flow in Tim Hecker's Virgins” 
2022 Rachel Gain Yale University “Beyond the Audible: Embodied Choreographic Syncopations in Rhythm Tap Dance”
2022 Audrey Slote University of Chicago “Chiasmus as Critique: Dallapiccola’s Ulisse and the Political Resonances of Musical Form”
2021 Anna Yu Wang Harvard University "Perceiving banyan: Temporal Syntax Unbeholden to Meter"
2020 Lina Sofia Tabak The Graduate Center, CUNY "Pulse Dissonance in Colombian Currulao"
2019 Catrina Kim Eastman School of Music "Fragments and Frames in the Early Romantic Era"
2019 Jeremy Tatar McGill University "Metric Transformations in Hip-Hop and R&B Sampling Practice"
Last modified
December 13, 2023