Friday, March 19, 2021
Friday, March 19, 2021
Submission Deadline
Friday, March 19, 2021

The program committee for the 2021 meeting of the Music Theory Society of  New York State (MTSNYS) invites proposals for 20-minute presentations on  any topic related to music theory and analysis.

2021 is a landmark year for MTSNYS, marking the fiftieth anniversary of its founding. As ever, we invite dynamic and innovative scholarship from across the field of music theory. We also especially welcome work that reflects on this moment:
> Topics that connect to the history, present, or future of the Society, and to the field of music theory as a whole.
> Topics that further last year’s commitment to exploring the relationship between methodology and inclusivity, such as antiracism in music theory, the consequences of current events for the future of the field, curriculum-building and pedagogy, and ideology and universalism in music theory.

Due to the pandemic, the conference will be hosted online (asynchronously). Presenters’ pre-recorded videos will be posted on the MTSNYS website from June 15 through September 15. A live (synchronous) keynote talk and workshop will be hosted on June 15 to kick off the conference. The keynote talk will be given by Michael Buchler (Florida State University) and the workshop will be led by Jennifer Snodgrass (Appalachian State University).

Proposals may not exceed 300 words, including footnotes/endnotes. If needed, the proposal may be accompanied by one single page of supplementary material, containing musical  examples, figures, bibliography, etc. This supplementary material should not appreciably add to the word count or content of the proposal. Combine this optional supplementary page together with the proposal into a single PDF file, and remove any identifying information from the document.

Submit proposals electronically by March 19 (11:59pm EST), here:

Only one proposal per submitter will be considered. Papers should not have previously been presented at other conferences or previously published.

Presentations by graduate students will automatically be eligible for the Patricia Carpenter Emerging Scholar Award, which includes a cash prize and optional publication in Theory and Practice.

All presenters will be invited to submit their papers for inclusion in the MTSNYS archives, housed in Sibley Library Special Collections at the Eastman School of Music.

Questions may be addressed to Tahirih Motazedian at

Members of the 2021 Program Committee are:
> Tahirih Motazedian (Vassar College), chair
> Christopher Bartlette (Binghamton University)
> Nicole Biamonte (McGill University)
> Brian Edward Jarvis (University of Texas at El Paso)
> Catrina S. Kim (University of North Carolina at Greensboro)
> William Marvin (Eastman School of Music)
> Crystal Peebles (Ithaca College)
> Charity Lofthouse (Hobart & William Smith Colleges), ex officio