Latest News & Announcements

These awards recognize significant contributions to the discipline of music theory. The 2024 nomination period has closed.

spectrum branding
With articles by Lawrence, Ohriner, Frederick, Poon, Willis, Blättler, Law, and Hannaford; review by Chiu.
headshot collage
Election results are in! Judith Lochhead has been elected as President-Elect, Mitch Ohriner has been elected Secretary, and Jonathan De Souza and Olga Sánchez-Kisielewska have been elected Members-at-Large.
With articles by Arkle, de Clercq, Duguay, Lal, Lam, Miller, Cox, Rabinovitch, Carter-Enyi, Shea, Reymore, White, VanHandel, Duinker, Biamonte, and Zeller; an essay by Principi; and a review by González Rojo.
ballot box
The SMT Executive Board has four positions that will open up after our 2024 meeting: a new President-Elect, a new secretary, and two new members of the Executive Board ("Members-at-Large").
two screenshots of Serena from Handmaid's Tale
SMT-V 10.2, "Dual Leading-Tone Loops in Recent Television Dramas" by Brad Osborn is now available at
headshots of winners
We are happy to announce the two winners of this year’s Dissertation Fellowships, Lee Cannon-Brown and Marcel Camprubi.