Interest Groups

Below is a list of SMT interest groups. Also listed are three standing committees: the Committee on the Status of Women , the Committee on Diversity, and the Professional Development Committee. Membership in the interests groups is open to all SMT members; please contact the chairs of the interest groups to find out how to join. Please refer also to the Interest Group Guidelines.

This section of the website also provides links to regional music theory societies and to other related music and professional societies.

Many interest groups also maintain online discussion forums. A list of these online discussion forums can be found here.


Committee on Diversity

As noted above, this is a standing committee, not an interest group. For information about this committee, please see the Committee on Diversity webpage.

Committee on the Status of Women (CSW)

As noted above, this is a standing committee, not an interest group. For information about this committee, please see the CSW webpage.

Early Music Analysis Interest Group

Contact: Timothy Chenette, timothy.chenette@usu.edu
Website: Early Music Group

Film and Multimedia Interest Group

Contact: Juan Chattah, j.chattah@miami.edu
Website: Film and Multimedia Interest Group

History of Theory Interest Group

Contact: Nathan Martin, nathan.martin@yale.edu

Interest Group on Improvisation

Contact: Chris Stover, stoverc@newschool.edu
Website: SMT Improvisation Group

Jazz Interest Group (SMT-Jz)

Contact: Keith Salley, ksalley@su.edu
Website: SMT Jazz Interest Group

Mathematics of Music Analysis Group

Contact: Richard Plotkin, richardp@buffalo.edu
Website: SMT Mathematics and Music Interest Group

Music and Disability Interest Group (DISMUS)

Contact: Jennifer Iverson, jennifer-iverson@uiowa.edu
Website: Music and Disability Interest Group

Music and Philosophy Interest Group

Contact: Brian Kane brian.kane@yale.edu
Website: Music and Philosophy Interest Group

Music Cognition Group

Contact: Mitch Ohriner, mohriner@gmail.com
Website: Music Cognition Group

Music Informatics Group

Contact: Johanna Devaney, j@devaney.ca
Website: SMT Informatics Site

Music Theory Pedagogy Interest Group

Contact: Daniel Stevens, stevens@udel.edu
Website: SMT Pedagogy Group

Performance and Analysis Interest Group

Contacts: Daniel Barolsky, barolskd@beloit.edu and Edward Klorman, eklorman@gc.cuny.edu
Website: SMT Performance and Analysis Group

Popular Music Interest Group

Contact:Brad Osborn, bradosborn@ku.edu
Website: SMT Popular Music

Post-1945 Music Analysis Interest Group

Contacts: Joshua Mailman, jmailman@columbia.edu and Matthew Schullman, matthew.schullman@yale.edu
Website: SMT Post-1945 Music Analysis

Professional Development Committee (PDC)

As noted above, this is a standing committee, not an interest group. For information about this committee, please see the PDC webpage.

Queer Resource Group (SMT-LGTB)

Contact: Gavin Lee, lee_shin_kang@hotmail.com
Website: SMT Queer Resource Group

Russian Music Theory Interest Group

Contact: Inessa Bazayev, inessa.bazayev@gmail.com
Website: Russian Music Theory Interest Group

Work and Family Interest Group

Contact: Clare Eng, clare.eng@belmont.edu
Website: Work and Family Interest Group

World Music (Analysis of World Music Group)

Contact: Lawrence Schuster, lawshuster@gmail.com
Website: SMT Analysis of World Music Group