Interest Groups

Below is a list of SMT interest groups. Also listed are three standing committees: the Committee on the Status of Women , the Committee on Diversity, and the Professional Development Committee. Membership in the interest groups is open to all SMT members; please see their websites (below) or contact the chairs of the interest groups to find out how to join. Please refer also to the Interest Group Guidelines.


Adjunct Faculty Interest Group

Contact: Heather Holmquest, hjholmquest@gmail.com

Autographs and Archival Documents Interest Group

Contact: Patricia Hall, pahall@umich.edu

Committee on Diversity

As noted above, this is a standing committee, not an interest group. For information about this committee, please see the Committee on Diversity webpage.

Committee on the Status of Women (CSW)

As noted above, this is a standing committee, not an interest group. For information about this committee, please see the CSW webpage.

Dance and Movement Interest Group

Contacts: Kara Yoo Leaman, kara.leaman@yale.edu, Rebecca Simpson-Litke, rsimplit@uga.edu

Early Music Analysis Interest Group

Contact: Megan Long, megan.long@oberlin.edu
Website: Early Music Group

Film and Multimedia Interest Group

Contacts: Mark Richards, mcrichards@fsu.edu, Tahirih Motazedian, tahirih.motazedian@yale.edu
Website: Film and Multimedia Interest Group

History of Theory Interest Group

Contact: Carmel Raz, carmel.raz@columbia.edu
Website: History of Theory Interest Group

Interest Group on Improvisation

Contacts: Max Guido, massimiliano.guido@unipv.it ; Gilad Rabinovitch, grabinovitch@gsu.edu
Website: SMT Improvisation Group

Jazz Interest Group (SMT-Jz)

Contact: Ben Geyer, ben.piano@gmail.com
Website: SMT Jazz Interest Group

Mathematics of Music Analysis Group

Contact: Richard Plotkin, richardp@buffalo.edu
Website: SMT Mathematics and Music Interest Group

Music and Disability Interest Group (DISMUS)

Contact: Bruce Quaglia, bruce.quaglia@gmail.com
Website: Music and Disability Interest Group

Music and Philosophy Interest Group

Contacts: Brian Kane, brian.kane@yale.edu, Bryan Parkhurst, bryanparkhurst@gmail.com, Naomi Waltham-Smith, naomiwal@sas.upenn.edu
Website: Music and Philosophy Interest Group

Music and Psychoanalysis

Contacts: David Bard-Schwarz, david.schwarz@unt.edu and Clara Latham, clara.latham@gmail.com
Website: Music and Psychoanalysis Interest Group

Music Cognition Group

Contact: Janet Bourne, jebourne1@gmail.com
Website: Music Cognition Group

Music Informatics Group

Contact: Daniel Shanahan, daniel.shanahan@gmail.com
Website: SMT Informatics Site

Music Theory Pedagogy Interest Group

Contact: Jeffrey Lovell, lovell@lvc.edu
Website: SMT Pedagogy Group

Performance and Analysis Interest Group

Contacts: Edward Klorman, edward.klorman@mcgill.ca
Website: SMT Performance and Analysis Group

Popular Music Interest Group

Contact: Nancy Murphy, nancymurphy@uchicago.edu
Website: SMT Popular Music

Post-1945 Music Analysis Interest Group

Contacts: Joshua Mailman, jbmailman@ua.edu and Amy Bauer, abauer@uci.edu
Website: SMT Post-1945 Music Analysis

Professional Development Committee (PDC)

As noted above, this is a standing committee, not an interest group. For information about this committee, please see the PDC webpage.

Queer Resource Group (SMT-LGTB)

Contact: Gavin Lee, lee_shin_kang@hotmail.com
Website: SMT Queer Resource Group

Russian Music Theory Interest Group

Contact: Inessa Bazayev, inessa.bazayev@gmail.com
Website: Russian Music Theory Interest Group

Scholars for Social Responsibility

Contact: Robin Attas, rattas@elon.edu
Website: Scholars for Social Responsibility

Work and Family Interest Group

Contact: Clare Eng, clare.eng@belmont.edu
Website: Work and Family Interest Group

World Music Analysis

Contact: Panos Mavromatis, pm68@nyu.edu
Website: SMT Analysis of World Music Group